Which AI Home Gadgets Need a Subscription?

You pay for the gadget once. Then, for some AI home devices, you keep paying every month. The tricky part is that the box rarely says which features are behind the plan. Here's how to tell before you buy, using five real gadgets as examples.
Why so many AI gadgets come with a plan
A lot of AI features run on the maker's servers, not on the device. Storing your video, sorting clips and sending smart alerts all cost the company money every month. So many makers charge a subscription for those parts.
Other gadgets do the smart work on the device itself, or store video at home. Those can skip the monthly fee. That's the main thing to find out.
Three kinds of subscription setups
1. No plan needed. The smart features work out of the box. The eufy Video Doorbell E340 with HomeBase 3 is an example. Its listing says it needs no subscription. It saves video on the HomeBase at home, and its facial recognition comes with no monthly fee. The CHEF iQ Sense thermometer and the Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) also list no paid plan for their core features.
2. Free with something you may already pay for. The newest Echo Show 8 is designed for Alexa+, Amazon's newer AI assistant. The listing says you get early access for free. After that, Alexa+ is included with a Prime membership. Without Prime, you need the Alexa+ subscription.
3. Plan required to turn it on. Some cameras won't work at all until you pay. The Furbo 360° Dog Camera sold as the "Paid Plan Required to Activate" version is one. Its listing says no features are available before activation. You pick a yearly plan, or a monthly plan with an activation fee. The plan adds AI alerts for barking and unusual activity, plus 3 to 7 days of video history. If you cancel, live view, 2-way audio and treat tossing still work, per the listing.
Furbo also sells a version marked "Core Features, No Ongoing Cost." It skips the plan, but it also skips the AI alerts. Same camera family, two very different deals.
Quick table
| Gadget | Paid plan for core features? | What a plan or membership adds |
|---|---|---|
| eufy E340 doorbell + HomeBase 3 | No | Not needed for AI or video storage |
| Echo Show 8 (newest model) | Alexa+ needs Prime or a plan after early access | Alexa+ assistant features |
| Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) | None mentioned on the listing | Not stated |
| CHEF iQ Sense | None mentioned on the listing | Not stated |
| Furbo 360° (paid plan version) | Yes, to activate | AI alerts, video history |
What to look for on a listing
- Read the title and the first bullet. Makers who need a plan often say it there, in words like "paid plan required" or "subscription required."
- Search the page for "subscription," "plan" and "activation." Look at the small print under each bullet, too.
- Ask what still works if you cancel. A good listing tells you. If it doesn't, assume the smart parts stop.
- Check where video goes. If a camera stores clips on a hub or card at home, it usually doesn't need a cloud plan for history. See our guide to local vs cloud storage for home cameras.
- Count the yearly cost. A low gadget price plus a plan can cost more over two years than a pricier gadget with no plan.
Is a subscription always bad?
No. A plan can be worth it if you use what it adds every day, like a dog owner who wants barking alerts at work. The problem is surprise. Know the plan before you buy, and it's just part of the price.
If you're buying it as a gift
A gift that needs a plan hands the other person a bill. If you do buy one, say so, or pick a gadget that works fully on its own. For a no-plan pick with real AI features, the eufy E340 doorbell is the one we'd pick first.
For all five gadgets side by side, see our AI gadgets for home comparison.